Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

Session 2007-08    25 February 2008

Community Cohesion and Migration

Parliamentary Committee visit to Burnley

A cross-party parliamentary committee of MPs will be visiting Burnley on Monday 3 and Tuesday 4 March to look at how the town copes with issues of migration and community cohesion.

During the visit the Communities and Local Government Select Committee will meet key local figures and will also be holding an evidence session to hear from minority ethnic and migrant communities, local residents and council representatives. The public are welcome to attend this event. 

The visit is part of an inquiry launched by the Committee in December into Community Cohesion and Migration (see subject page for further details). This inquiry will consider the effects of migration on community cohesion. Burnley is the second place the Committee has visited in connection with this inquiry. The Committee has already been to Peterborough to look issues facing the community there. At the end of the inquiry the Committee will produce a report with recommendations to Government.

In the afternoon of 3 March, the MPs will visit Burnley and Pendle Faith Centre and meet members of Burnley’s faith communities.

The public evidence session will take place on Tuesday 4 March between 10.00 am and noon at Burnley Town Hall. The council representatives giving evidence will include:

Cllr Gordon Birtwistle, Leader of Burnley Borough Council       Steve Rumbelow, Chief Executive Officer, Burnley Borough Council

All members of the public are welcome to attend.  At the end of the formal meeting there will be an opportunity for members of the public to ask questions or make contributions in relation to the Committee’s inquiry.

The Chair of the Committee, Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Labour, Milton Keynes South West), will be available for interviews between 17.00 and 17.45 pm at the Burnley and Pendle Faith Centre on Monday 3 March and between 8.00 and 8.30 am on 4 March. To arrange an interview with the Chair please contact the Media Officer (see details below).


Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Jim Dobbin MP (Lab/Co-op), Andrew George MP (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab).

Specific Committee Information:    020 7219 1353 or 020 7219 4972                                                       

Media Information: Laura Kibby, 020 7219 0718

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on