Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

Session 2007-08  5 December 2007

New Inquiry and Call for Evidence

Community Cohesion and Migration

The Committee is responsible for scrutinising the work and policy responsibilities of the Department for Communities and Local Government. It is in this context that the Committee is launching an inquiry on Community Cohesion and Migration. The starting point is community cohesion and the Commission on Integration and Cohesion’s report Our Shared Future.

It is intended that this inquiry should complement other work in this area being undertaken by other bodies, including the House of Commons Treasury Committee’s inquiry Counting the population; the House of Lords Economic Affairs Committee inquiry into The Economic Impact of Immigration; and the Equality and Human Rights Commission’s recently proposed study into the fairness of access to housing.

The Community and Local Government Committee’s inquiry terms of reference are to examine:

• the effect of recent inward migration on community cohesion, and public concerns about this effect;

• the role, responsibilities and actions of different bodies on community cohesion and migration, including those of local and central government and of employers;

• the effectiveness of local and central government action and expenditure in promoting community cohesion and responding to inward migration flows, with particular regard to the following:

-areas that have experienced rapid increases in new inward migration,

-areas that have a lack of experience of diversity,

-areas where new migrant communities mix with existing settled migrant communities;

• the role of the English language as a tool in promoting the integration of migrants;

• the impact of recent migration on local communities, including the impact on housing, education, health care, and other public services; and

• actions to take forward the Commission on Integration and Cohesion’s recommendations relating to migration.

The Committee invites individuals and organisations to submit written evidence addressing the inquiry’s terms of reference by Friday 18 January 2008

Further information on this inquiry can be found at:

If you have any queries on the submission of evidence contact Sara Turnbull, Committee Specialist, tel: 020 7219 6755, email:


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Jim Dobbin MP (Lab/Co-op), Andrew George MP (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab).

2. Written evidence should, if possible, be submitted electronically, by email to The email must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. If sent by post is should be submitted to Sara Turnbull, Committee Specialist, CLG Committee, 7 Millbank, House of Commons, London, SW1P 3JA.

3. Submissions should be as brief as possible. It is helpful to include a summary with longer submissions. Submissions should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted no public use should be made of it. Detailed guidance on the submission of written evidence can be found at

Specific Committee Information:  020 7219 1353 or 020 7219 4972

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on