Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

Session 2007-08   15 November 2007

Report Publication-Coastal Towns: the Government’s Second Response

Last month the Committee received a second response from the Government to its Report on the situation of English Coastal Towns (HC 351 of Session 2006-07).

The Committee will be publishing that response, together with a Report on it, as its First Report of Session 2007-08 (HC 69). The Report will be published on Wednesday 21 November at 00.01 am.

The Report will be available in the following ways:

• Advance copies of the Report will be available under embargo on Tuesday 20 November from 11.00 am onwards to witnesses and media representatives. Please contact the Committee Office on 020 7219 3927/4972 or to arrange collection or for a copy to be posted to you. Embargoed copies will be available for collection between 12.00-1.00pm on Tuesday 20 November only. If you are unable to collect at this time we can post the Report to you.

• Copies of the Report may be obtained, on publication, from the usual outlets, including The Parliamentary Bookshop and The Stationery Office (reference: First Report of the Committee, Session 2007-08, HC 69).

• The Report will be posted on the internet at approximately noon on Wednesday 21 November, and will be accessible via the Committee’s website. If you wish to receive a copy of the Report, please contact the Committee in advance of publication.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Jim Dobbin MP (Lab/Co-op), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Martin Horwood MP (Lib Dem), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab).

2. More information on the Committee’s report on Coastal Towns can be found on the Committee website at:

Specific Committee Information: 020 7219 1353 or 020 7219 4972

Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, Media Officer, Tel: 0207 219 0718, Email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on