Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

Session 2006 - 07   7 June 2007



A debate will be held on the Committee’s Coastal Towns report in Westminster Hall, House of Commons, at 2.30pm on Thursday 7 June.  It is expected to last for approximately three hours.

The Committee published its Coastal Towns report on 7 March 2007 (see press notice issued on 7 March).  The Government responded on 18 May 2007, its response can be viewed here.

The debate is open to the public to attend.  Seating is limited and there is no system of tickets or advance booking. Visitors who wish to attend the sitting should go to St Stephen’s Entrance, House of Commons, where they will be admitted on a first come first served basis.

Notes for editors:

1. The membership of the Communities and Local Government Committee is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Martin Horwood MP (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab), David Wright (Lab).

2. Media inquiries should be directed to:

Laura Kibby, Select Committee Media Officer

Tel: 0207 219 0718/ Mobile: 07917488557 / e-mail: