Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

2006 - 07  21 May 2007



The Communities and Local Government Committee will be hearing evidence for its inquiry into Refuse Collection on the following date:

Monday 21 May

At 4.40pm Mr Stephen Didsbury, Head of Waste  and Street Services at Bexley Borough Council. Mrs Judith Turner, Director, Veolia, Sheffield. Chartered Institution of Wastes Management

At 5.20pm Cllr Paul Bettison, Chairman, LGA Environment Board. Mr Martin Wheatley, Programme Director. Local Government Association

At 6.00pm Mr John Duffy, Mayor's Policy Director, Environment. Mr Pete Daw, Principal Officer, Waste. The Greater London Authority

The evidence session will take place in public, unless otherwise decided by the Committee, in a Committee Room at the House of Commons. 

Contact Committee Secretariat on 020 7219 4972

If you would prefer future press notices to be sent via email rather than post please email your address to

Notes for editors:

1. The Committee announced its inquiry into Refuse Collection on 27 March 2007 (see Press Notice PN21 of Session 2006-07 for further details). The terms of reference for the inquiry can be found on the Committee's home page on the internet:

2. The membership of the Communities and Local Government Committee is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Martin Horwood MP (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab), David Wright (Lab).

Committee website:

3. Media inquiries should be directed to:

Laura Kibby, Select Committee Media Officer

Tel: 0207 219 0718/ Mobile: 07917488557 / e-mail: