Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

Session 2006 - 07  21 May 2007



Following the Committee's evidence session with Trevor Phillips, Chair of the Commission for Equality and Human Rights on 24 April 2007 the Committee has decided to conduct a short inquiry on Equality to:

• consider issues faced in the establishment of the new Commission for Equality and Human Rights (CEHR);

• consider the Government's role and responsibilities in taking forward the recommendations within the Equalities Review, and

• consider the possible contents of the Discrimination Law Review and a Single Equality Bill.

The Committee will be holding an evidence session with Ministers on Tuesday 5 June.

Tuesday 5 June

At 10.30am  The Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, Rt hon Ruth Kelly MP, and the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Women and Equality), Meg Munn MP

Further information on this inquiry can be found at:

The evidence session will take place in public, unless otherwise decided by the Committee, in a Committee Room at the House of Commons. 

Contact Committee Secretariat on 020 7219 4972

Notes for editors:

1. The membership of the Communities and Local Government Committee is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Martin Horwood MP (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab), David Wright (Lab).

2. A copy of the transcript from the Committee's evidence session with Trevor Phillips on 24 April is available on the Committee's website at:

2. Media inquiries should be directed to:

Laura Kibby, Select Committee Media Officer  Tel: 0207 219 0718/Mobile: 07917488557/e-mail: