Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

Session 2006 - 07 8 May 2007


Following the Lyons Inquiry into Local Government, the Committee has decided to carry out an inquiry into Local Government Finance: Council Tax Benefit, with particular reference to the following issues:

• the case for rebranding council tax benefit as a ‘rebate’;

• the role and effectiveness of Government in increasing council tax benefit uptake levels;

• the case for improvements to the processing of pension credit claims to enable the Pension Service to act as a portal to rebates for all callers, regardless of pension credit eligibility, and to examine steps to improve data sharing, and

• the case for reform of the council tax benefit eligibility criteria including the case for changing or abolishing the saving limit in council tax benefit for pensioners, and the case for aligning council tax rebate thresholds with other parts of the tax system.

The Committee invites written evidence addressing these issues by Friday 8 June 2007. 

A public meeting to take oral evidence is expected in June.  Details of this meeting will be announced later.

Further information on this inquiry can be found at

 Contact: Sara Turnbull, Committee Specialist, tel: 020 7219 6755, email

Further Information:

Written evidence must if possible be submitted in an electronic format, preferably by e-mail to  The e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. If sent by post it should be sent to Sara Turnbull, Committee Specialist, CLG Committee, 7 Millbank, House of Commons, London SW1P 3JA. Witnesses submitting written evidence in manuscript are respectfully requested to take particular care that it is legible.

Submissions should be as brief as possible. It is helpful to include a summary with longer submissions. Those submitting evidence are reminded that evidence should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted no public use should be made of it. Detailed guidance on the submission of written evidence can be found at

If you have any queries regarding the submission of evidence or would like to discuss your memorandum, please contact Sara Turnbull (020 7219 6755,

Notes for editors

1. Sir Michael Lyons’s report, Place-shaping: a shared ambition for the future of local government, was published in March 2007. Details of his inquiry and the final report can be found at:

2. The Communities and Local Government Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the administration, policy and expenditure of the Department for Communities and Local Government.  Its membership comprises eleven Members of Parliament.

3. The membership of the Communities and Local Government Committee is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Martin Horwood MP (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab), David Wright (Lab).

Media inquiries should be directed to:

Laura Kibby, Select Committee Media Officer

Tel: 0207 219 0718/ Mobile: 07917488557 / e-mail: