Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

Session 2006-07  7 March 2007




The Communities and Local Government Committee will be publishing its Fourth Report of Session 2006-07, Is there a future for Regional Government? on Wednesday 14 March at 00.01 am.

The Report will be available in the following ways:

• Advance copies of the Report will be available under embargo on Tuesday 13 March from 11.00am onwards in the Press Gallery and to witnesses and other media representatives from the Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA.  Media representatives who would like to receive an advance PDF copy of the embargoed report should contact Laura Kibby on 0207 219 0718/07917488557

• Copies of the Report may be obtained, on publication, from the usual outlets, including The Parliamentary Bookshop and The Stationery Office (reference: Fourth Report of the Committee, Session 2006-07, HC 352-I). 

• The Report will be posted on the internet at approximately 10.00 am on 14 March, and will be accessible via the Committee’s webpages.

Note to Editors:

The Communities and Local Government Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Communities and Local Government and its associated bodies.  The Committee launched an inquiry on 7 December 2005 to examine issues relating to regional government.  During the course of the inquiry extensive oral and written evidence on regional government was received.

For further information about this inquiry, please see:

The current membership of the Communities and Local Government Committee is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Martin Horwood MP (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab), David Wright (Lab).

Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, Media Officer, Tel: 0207 219 0718/ Mobile: 07917488557 / e-mail: