Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

Session 2006-07  28 February 2007



The Communities and Local Government Committee will be publishing its Second Report of Session 2006-07, Coastal Towns on Wednesday 7 March at 00.01 am.

This report examines Government policy affecting English coastal towns.  The Chair of the Committee, Dr Phyllis Starkey MP will be launching the Committee’s report at the inaugural BURA (British Urban Regeneration Association) Seaside Conference in Scarborough.  Dr Starkey will be delivering a keynote speech at this event at 10:20am on 7 March.

The Report will be available in the following ways:

• Advance copies of the Report will be available under embargo on Tuesday 6 March from 11.00am onwards in the Press Gallery and to witnesses and other media representatives from the Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA.  Media representatives who would like to receive an advanced PDF copy of the report should contact Laura Kibby on 0207 219 0718/07917488557

• Copies of the Report may be obtained, on publication, from the usual outlets, including The Parliamentary Bookshop and The Stationery Office (reference: Second Report of the Committee, Session 2006-07, HC 351).  Additionally, copies will be available at the seaside conference in Scarborough.

• The Report will be posted on the internet at approximately 10.00am on 7 March, and will be accessible via the Committee’s homepage:

Note to Editors:

The Communities and Local Government Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Communities and Local Government and its associated bodies.  The Committee launched an inquiry to examine Government policy affecting coastal towns.  During the course of the inquiry extensive oral and written evidence on the situation of coastal towns was received.

For further information about this inquiry, please see:

The current membership of the Communities and Local Government Committee is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Martin Horwood MP (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab), David Wright (Lab).

For further information about the BURA Seaside Conference please see: or contact Clare Webber, Tel:  01483 415915. 

Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, Media Officer, Tel: 0207 219 0718/ Mobile: 07917488557 / e-mail:  Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Committee Chair) will be available for interviews on Wednesday 7 March, Sir Paul Beresford MP will also be available, please contact Laura Kibby to arrange.