The content on this page relates to the work of the Committee until the Dissolution of Parliament on 12 April 2010.

  • The House agreed on 15 June 2010 that the Children, Schools and Families Committee should be renamed the Education Committee. A new-look homepage has been created which provides the latest information about the work and membership of the Committee. 
  • Education Committee from May 2010

Children, Schools and Families Committee: Members

The membership of the Children, School and Families Committee in the previous Parliament was as follows:

Member Constituency Party
Mr Barry Sheerman MP (Chair) Huddersfield Labour
Mrs Annette Brooke MP Mid Dorset and Poole North Liberal Democrats
Ms Karen Buck MP Regent's Park and Kensington North Labour
Mr Douglas Carswell MP Harwich Conservative
Mr David Chaytor MP Bury North Labour
Mrs Sharon Hodgson MP Gateshead East and Washington West Labour
Fiona Mactaggart MP Slough Labour
Paul Holmes MP Chesterfield Liberal Democrats
Mr Andrew Pelling MP Croydon Central Independent
Helen Southworth MP Warrington South Labour
Mr Graham Stuart MP Beverley & Holderness Conservative
Mr Edward Timpson MP Crewe and Nantwich Conservative
Derek Twigg MP Halton Labour
Lynda Waltho MP Stourbridge Labour