Children, Schools and Families Committee

13 November 2007

Membership of the Committee and Appointment of Chairman

On 8 November 2007 the House of Commons appointed fourteen Members of Parliament to the Children, Schools and Families Committee. The Committee elected Mr Barry Sheerman MP as Chairman on 12 November 2007. Details of the Members of the Committee are as follows:

Mr Barry Sheerman, Labour, Huddersfield (Chairman)
Annette Brooke, Liberal Democrat, Mid Dorset and Poole North
Ms Dawn Butler, Labour, Brent South
Mr Douglas Carswell, Conservative, Harwich
Mr David Chaytor, Labour, Bury North
Mr John Heppell, Labour, Nottingham East
Fiona Mactaggart, Labour, Slough
Mrs Maria Miller, Conservative, Basingstoke
Mr Andrew Pelling, Conservative, Croydon Central
Joan Ryan, Labour, Enfield North
Mr Andy Slaughter, Labour, Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush
Mr Graham Stuart, Conservative, Beverley & Holderness
Lynda Waltho, Labour, Stourbridge
Stephen Williams, Liberal Democrat, Bristol West

The Committee's initial programme will be announced shortly.