Children, Schools and Families Committee

6 November 2007

Children, Schools and Families Committee

As a consequence of changes announced in June 2007, the Department for Education and Skills has ceased to exist and two new Departments have been created: the Department for Children, Schools and Families (DCSF) and the Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills (DIUS).

Following this decision, the Education and Skills Committee and Science and Technology Committee have now been dissolved and two new Committees will be established to monitor the work of the new Departments.

Contact details for the Children, Schools and Families Committee are as follows (as from Tuesday 6 November 2007):

Children, Schools and Families Committee
Telephone number: 020 7 219 6181
Email address:

The formal remit of the Committee is to monitor the policy, expenditure and administration of the Department for Children, Schools and Families. Some examples of areas which fall within the Committee's remit are given below, although this list is not comprehensive:

  • Early Years, Sure Start, Children's Centres, Childcare and some aspects of family policy;

  • Schools, colleges and other educational settings such as pupil referral units;

  • Looked-after children;

  • Workforce reform in the education and care sector; and

  • Curricula and qualifications.

The Committee's remit also covers the work of Non-Departmental Public Bodies, such as Ofsted and CAFCASS.


The Committee will have a membership of fourteen Members of Parliament. Members have not yet been appointed. Further information will be announced as soon as it is available.

Reports and evidence published by the former Education and Skills Committee will remain available on it website: