Business, Innovation and Skills Committee

Committee calls for more clarity on development of Post Office banking services


The Business Innovation and Skills Committee today releases the Government's Response to its predecessor Committee's report, Post offices - securing their future, published in July.

While the Committee welcomes the Government's view the provision of banking services by the post office should be a priority, it notes that the Response does not set out in detail how the Government intends to pursue this objective.

The Committee therefore calls for clarity on the Government's intentions in this area, to assist the Committee in understanding how those banking services will be developed. The Committee asks the Department to expand, in writing, on this part of its Response, or to invite Post Office Ltd to do so on its behalf.

Peter Luff, Committee Chairman commented:

"While we welcome the positive response of the Government to our Report, we are seeking more clarity on how BIS and the Post Office are going to develop banking services delivered through the network.

"We heard compelling evidence throughout our inquiry that the Post Office is in a unique position to increase banking provision for communities and small businesses throughout the UK. We agree that Post Office Ltd must exploit this potential more fully.

"If, as the Response says, the Government also agrees this is a priority, then it, or the Post Office, must spell out urgently not just the extra services that need to be provided but also which of the competing banking models it intends to pursue."

Further Information:
The Committee's original report can we accessed here:

Committee membership is as follows:
Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Mr Lembit Öpik (Lib Dem) (Montgomeryshire)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email:
Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: