Further Education Funding and the Skills Funding Agency


Business, Innovation and Skills Committee to inquire into Further Education Funding and the Skills Funding Agency

In April 2010, the Skills Funding Agency (SFA) will take over the responsibilities of the Learning and Skills Council (LSC). It will become the overarching agency delivering funding and direction to the Further Education (FE) sector. The Business, Innovation and Skills Committee has agreed to a focused inquiry into the new Skills Funding Agency and Government policy in respect of Further Education funding.

Topics the Committee will consider include:

€ The transitional arrangements currently in place between the LSC and the Skills Funding Agency (including any legacy issues surrounding funding problems experienced by the LSC in respect of its management of the capital programme);

€ How the SFA will oversee the FE budget through its relationships with the UK Commission for Employment and Skills, the National Employer Services and the National Apprenticeship Service; and

€ The delivery role that is envisaged for Local Authorities and the RDAs.

Written evidence should be sent to the Committee before Monday 11 January 2010. These should be sent, as an MS Word document, of no more than eight pages, by e-mail to biscom@parliament.uk with a single hard copy sent to the Clerk of the Committee at the address above.

Once submitted evidence is the property of the Committee and should not be published without the Committee's consent. The Committee will usually publish evidence it receives, both in printed form and on the Internet. If you wish your evidence to remain confidential, please contact the Committee staff. Before submitting evidence, please read the guide to submission of written evidence at: http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/witness.cfm

Further Information:
Business, Innovation and Skills Committee membership is as follows:

Chairman: Peter Luff (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Mr Lembit Öpik (Lib Dem) (Montgomeryshire)
Ian Stewart (Lab) (Eccles)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email: humblel@parliament.uk
Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: : biscom@parliament.uk