Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform Committee

17 January 2008 (PN 16)



The Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform Committee today announces the final oral evidence session of its inquiry into the UK construction industry. The aim of the hearing will be to question the Government on the many issues raised in evidence to the Committee during the course of its evidence-gathering. Among the topics of interest to the Committee are:

€ The fragmentation of government responsibility for construction policy;

€ The role of the public sector as client to the construction industry;

€ Current and forecast capacity within the sector;

€ Progress in promoting collaborative working;

€ The industry's health and safety record; and

€ Progress in promoting environmental sustainability within the sector.

Date/Time: Tuesday 22 January at 10:30 am

Witnesses: Rt. Hon. Stephen Timms MP, Minister of State for Competitiveness,

Mr Mark Pedlingham, Office of Government Commerce

Location: Committee Room 5, Main Committee Corridor

Following the evidence session, the Committee will take time to consider all of the written and oral evidence it has received, and expects to publish its conclusions and recommendations to Government and the industry later in the Spring.

The session will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.

Further Information:

As a consequence of Machinery of Government changes announced in June 2007, the Department for Trade and Industry ceased to exist and the Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform was created. Following this decision, the Trade and Industry Committee has now been dissolved and a successor committee has been created, with the following membership:

Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Mark Hunter (Lib Dem) (Cheadle)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mr Mike Weir (SNP) (Angus)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: