Business, Enterprise & Regulatory Reform Committee

29 November 2007



The Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform Committee today announces the third oral evidence session of its inquiry into the UK construction industry. The aim of this session is to hear the views of organisations responsible for industry improvement and research. The Committee will also be taking evidence from representatives of construction SMEs. Issues in which the Committee will be taking a particular interest include:

• The collapse of Government funding support for construction research and innovation;

• The performance of the Government as procurer of construction projects;

• Progress in promoting environmental sustainability;

• health and safety concerns; and

• lessons to be learnt from recent successful projects, such as Heathrow Terminal 5.

Date/Time:    Tuesday 4 December at 10.30am

10.30 am    Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment , and Constructing Excellence

11.15 am   Building Research Establishment, Building Services Research and Information Association, Construction Industry Research and Information Association

12.00 pm   Federation of Master Builders

Location:   Committee Room 6, House of Commons

Further evidence sessions for this inquiry will be announced in due course.

The session will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.

Further Information:

As a consequence of Machinery of Government changes announced in June 2007, the Department for Trade and Industry ceased to exist and the Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform was created. Following this decision, the Trade and Industry Committee has now been dissolved and a successor committee has been created, with the following membership:

Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Mark Hunter (Lib Dem) (Cheadle)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mike Weir (SNP) (Angus)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: