becpn9 0809

18 December 2008  (PN 9)


The Business & Enterprise Committee will hold an evidence session with Lord Mandelson on Wednesday 14 January 2009

Time and Date:    9.30 am, Wednesday 14 January 2009

Venue:    Committee Room 16,  Palace of Westminster

The hearing has been arranged to discuss the work of the department in the current economic crisis.  It follows Lord Mandelson's undertaking, as a Secretary of State in the House of Lords, to come before the Committee regularly.

This session is expected to be a wide-ranging discussion of the work of the Department in the current economic crisis. Committee members are likely to raise government support for industry, including the automotive industry; Lord Mandelson's views on an industrial strategy; and the Hooper review of the UK postal services sector.

Peter Luff, Chairman of the Committee said:

“The Committee is keeping a close eye on the way in which the current crisis is developing, and its implications for business. This session will give us the opportunity to discuss a wide range of topics with the Secretary of State.  There are new economic and policy developments almost every day, and the hearing will doubtless respond to these.  At this stage, the matters we expect to cover include the Department’s support for business;  the state of the automotive industry; and the Government's proposals for Royal Mail Group.  Each of them is vitally important for individuals and businesses in the United Kingdom." 

 Further Information:

Committee membership is as follows:

Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Mr Mike Weir (SNP) (Angus)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email:
Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: