Business and Enterprise Committee

24 July 2009 (PN 51)

Business & Enterprise Committee to monitor the banks€™ administration of the Enterprise Finance Guarantee Scheme

Call for evidence

Following the launch of its Report on the Government€™s Enterprise Finance Guarantee Scheme the Business and Enterprise Committee is inviting companies to submit evidence of their experiences of trying to access this scheme through their banks. The Committee is particularly interested to know:

€ Whether banks are offering alternative, sources of funding which provide them with higher profits or reduce their risks (e.g. factoring) in place of the EFGS

€ Whether banks are placing inappropriate conditions on loans supported by EFGS, such as requiring the main home as security.

The Committee is particularly interested to hear about cases where a bank did not offer a company support under EFG funding, but did offer access to its own schemes. While the Committee is interested in hearing companies€™ experiences, it will not be able to intervene in individual cases, or make judgments as to whether companies are financially viable.

Written evidence should be sent to the Committee before 12 October. These should be sent, as an MS Word document, of no more than eight pages, by e-mail to with a single hard copy sent to the Clerk of the Committee at the address above.

Once submitted evidence is the property of the Committee and should not be published without the Committee€™s consent. The Committee will usually publish evidence it receives, both in printed form and on the Internet. If you wish your evidence to remain confidential, please contact the Committee staff. Before submitting evidence, please read the guide to submission of written evidence at:

Further Information:

Committee membership is as follows:
Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Mr Lembit pik (Lib Dem) (Montgomeryshire)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email:
Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: