becpn47 0809

29 June 2009  (PN 47)

Business & Enterprise Committee to inquire into Broadband Speed

Announcement of Inquiry

The Business and Enterprise Committee has agreed to carry out an inquiry examining the broadband speed in the UK. This inquiry follows the publication of the Government report Digital Britain on 16 June 2009 which outlined the Government’s plans to “maximise the benefits from the digital revolution” and builds upon the interim report The Digital Britain: interim report  of 29 January 2009.

Topics the Committee will consider include:

• Whether the target for universal access to broadband at a speed of 2Mb/s by 2012 is ambitious enough?

• Is the Government right to propose a levy on copper lines to fund next generation access?

• Will the Government’s plans for next generation access work?

• If companies are providing the speed of access which they promise to consumers?

• The extent to which current regulation striks the right balance between ensuring fair competition and encouraging investment in next generation networks? and

• Any other views stakeholders think the Committee should be aware of.

The Committee is aware that the Welsh Affairs Committee is currently inquiring into Digital Inclusion in Wales, and is expected to report shortly. We will be informed by the conclusions of that inquiry.

Written evidence on broadband provision should be sent to the Committee before Friday 25 September 2009. These should be sent, as an MS Word document, of no more than eight pages, by e-mail to with a single hard copy sent to the Clerk of the Committee at the address above. 

Once submitted evidence is the property of the Committee and should not be published without the Committee’s consent. The Committee will usually publish evidence it receives, both in printed form and on the Internet. If you wish your evidence to remain confidential, please contact the Committee staff. Before submitting evidence, please read the guide to submission of written evidence at:

29 June 2009

Further Information:
Committee membership is as follows:
Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Mr Lembit Öpik (Lib Dem) (Montgomeryshire)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email:
Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: