becpn27 0809

13 March, 2009  (PN 27)


The Business & Enterprise Committee will visit Devon next week in the second of its visits around the UK in order to see post offices in operation and gauge public opinion about the future of the network. The visit will feed into the Committee’s inquiry Post Offices - Securing their future, intended to report to the Government in the summer.

The visit will be on Tuesday March 17, including a trip to the rural Kennerleigh Post Office, followed by a public meeting in Exeter.

Details are as follows:
Date: March 17

2.30 - 3.30 pm - Visit Kennerleigh Post Office

4.30 - 5.30 pm - Public meeting in County Hall, Exeter

The Committee will then travel on to Cardiff for a series of meetings with stakeholders at Cardiff Bay on March 18.

Committee Chairman Peter Luff said:

“After a successful and informative trip to Essex, we are delighted to be visiting Devon to see an example of how a rural post office is vital to the community. We also hope that the public meeting we are holding in Exeter will provide a productive opportunity for post office users in the wider area to air their views.

We would urge as many members of the public to come along as possible. Our inquiry is intended to help the Government shape policy about the future of the Post Office network. As such, we are keen to encourage public participation to ensure that our Report is really well informed in its recommendations as to how to provide a cost-effective network, which also meets public needs."

There will be opportunities for press interested in the visit to attend/interview Committee members. Press should contact Laura Humble, Select Committee Media Officer, to arrange this. Tel 020 7219 2003/ mobile: 07917 488 489/ email:

Further Information:
Committee membership is as follows:

Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Mr Lembit Öpik (Lib Dem) (Montgomeryshire)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email:
Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: