becpn21 0809

4 March 2009  (PN 21)


The Business & Enterprise Committee will hold a number of regional meetings for its inquiry, Post Offices - Securing their future in order to visit post offices and gauge public opinion about the future of the network.

The first visit will be to Essex, where three Post Offices have recently been re-opened with the help of local authorities, on Thursday 12 March.

The Committee will visit recently re-opened Buckhurst Hill Post Office, before travelling on to Chelmsford to a meeting with Essex County Council leader Lord Hanningfield and other council officials. The Committee will then hold a public meeting to discuss the future of the Post Office with local residents from 1.00-2.00pm in Shire Hall, Chelmsford.

Committee Chairman Peter Luff said:

“We are delighted to be visiting Essex where local authorities have been devising innovative ways to keep their post offices open. We look forward to finding out more about how they have been able to achieve this and to meeting users of post offices in Essex to gauge the importance of the service to them.

Our inquiry, which members of the public can also currently contribute to via a parliamentary web forum, is intended to help the Government shape policy about the future of the Post Office network and as such we encourage the public to contribute as much as they can. Watch this space for more regional visits!"

Press interested in the visit should contact Eleri Roberts at Essex County Council. Tel: 01245 430650/ email:

Press who would like background on the Post Offices - Securing their future inquiry should contact Select Committee Media Officer, Laura Humble. Tel 020 7219 2003/ mobile: 07917 488 489/ email:

Further visits will be announced in due course. The web forum for members of the public to submit their views on the future of the Post Office is open until 10 March here:

Evidence can also be submitted to the Committee in written format. For details please see the Committee’s web site:

Further Information:

Committee membership is as follows:

Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Mr Lembit Öpik (Lib Dem) (Montgomeryshire)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email:
Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: