becpn15 0809

22 January 2009 (PN 15)


The Business & Enterprise Committee seeks Specialist Advisers to assist with its current inquiry: a review of future services to be offered through the Post Office network.

Specialist Advisers work on an ad hoc, part-time basis subject to the Committee's requirements and individual availability. Advisers may be asked to assist Committees by: analysing evidence; drafting committee papers; and by advising the Chair and Committee on their area of expertise either formally or informally. While most work is carried out remotely, attendance at relevant private and public meetings at Westminster may be required. Advisers are paid a modest daily rate and travel expenses where these arise.

The Committee seeks the following expertise:

€ experience of the realities of running Crown post offices and sub-post offices;

€ a thorough understanding of the regulatory framework underlying the Post Office network.

Discretion and the ability to work impartially in a political environment are essential.

Expressions of interest are sought from candidates who wish to be considered for appointment for the duration of the inquiry, which the Committee hopes to complete by early summer. CVs of applicants will be kept on file. If the Committee subsequently identifies a need for assistance in an individual's particular area of expertise, staff may contact the applicant to gain consent for his/her name to be shortlisted for consideration by the Committee. CVs should be no more than three sides in length with full contact details attached.

A covering letter and a CV should be sent to Ms Eleanor Scarnell, Committee Assistant, Business and Enterprise Committee, 7 Millbank London SW1P 3JA or e-mailed to mail to: by 2 February.

The Committee welcomes applications from individuals with disabilities or ethnic minority backgrounds.

For further information please contact Eve Samson on 020 7219 5469.

Committee website:

Inquiry announcement:

Further Information:
Committee membership is as follows:
Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Lembit Öpik (Lib Dem) (Montgomeryshire)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: