becpn12 0809

14 January 2009 (PN 12)



Each year the Business & Enterprise Committee scrutinises at least one of the Department’s associated public bodies.  In November 2007 the Committee announced it would hold an evidence session with the Insolvency Service.

At the time, the Committee invited submissions from interested parties and Peter Luff said:

“The most recent figures show that insolvencies are increasing at an alarming rate.  Given the current economic situation, it is timely to look at the Insolvency Service, both to assure ourselves of its efficiency, and to give the public the opportunity to raise any concerns they may have about the underlying policy.”

That session will take place as follows:

Tuesday  27 January in Committee Room 15, Palace of Westminster at 10.30am

Stephen Speed, Inspector General and Agency Chief Executive, Insolvency Service
Graham Horne, Deputy Chief Executive, Insolvency Service

Further information on the Committee’s inquiry can be found on its web pages at:

Further Information:

Committee membership is as follows:

Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Mr Mike Weir (SNP) (Angus)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email:
Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: