becpn11 0809

12 January 2009 (PN 11)



The Government established an independent panel to review the UK postal services sector on 17 December 2007. The Panel was chaired by Richard Hooper CBE; its other members were Dame Deirdre Hutton and Ian R Smith. The review reported on 16 December 2008. It concluded "The only company currently capable of providing the universal service in the UK is Royal Mail. But it is much less efficient than many of its European peers and faces severe difficulties." It recommended a strategic partnership between Royal Mail and one or more private sector companies with demonstrable experience of transforming a major business, ideally a major network business; that the Government should tackle the historic pension deficit, to enable the company to reap the benefits of modernisation, and a new regulatory regime is needed to place postal regulation within the broader context of the communications market, in which responsibility for regulation would pass to Ofcom.

This hearing will allow the Committee to discuss the findings first with Mr Hooper, and subsequently with Mr Billy Hayes, the General Secretary of the CWU.

Tuesday  20 January 2009 in Committee Room 16, Palace of Westminster

at 10.30am
Mr Richard Hooper CBE, Chair of the Postal Services Sector Review Panel
Mr Jonathan Booth, Head of Secretariat

at approx 11.15am
Mr Billy Hayes, General Secretary, CWU

Further Information:

Committee membership is as follows:
Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen.)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Mr Mike Weir (SNP) (Angus)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 0207 219 2003/ 07917 488 489, email:
Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5777, email: