becpn08 0809

18 December 2008  (PN 8)



Oral evidence session

The Culture Media and Sport Committee and the Business and Enterprise Committee will be holding a joint session to take evidence from Collette Bowe, chair elect of Ofcom.

Date and time:   Tuesday 13 January  at  10.30am.

Following the announcement by Lord Currie, the current Chairman of Ofcom, that he is standing down in 2009, an independent selection panel made recommendations to the DCMS and BERR Secretaries of State who have announced Collette Bowe as chair elect.

The evidence session will be a pre-appointment hearing for the Committees to examine the professional competence and personal independence of Collette Bowe. This is in line with the Government’s recommendations made in July 2007 in the Green Paper on The Governance of Britain proposing the scrutiny of certain public appointments by select committees.

The Committees will also be seeking Dr Bowe’s views on:

- The role of Ofcom as a regulator and policy maker

- The impact of the economic climate on the communications sector and Ofcom

- The future of public service and regional broadcasting

- Ofcom’s engagement with the Government’s Digital Britain agenda

Location: The meeting is scheduled to take place in Committee Room 16, House of Commons.

Committee Rooms and timings are subject to change. Anyone interested in attending the session should check the Commons Committee Calendar at: a few days before the meeting.

The session will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks.



Committee membership is as follows:

Chairman: Peter Luff MP (Con) (Mid Worcestershire)
Mr Adrian Bailey (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Roger Berry (Lab) (Kingswood)
Mr Brian Binley (Con) (Northampton South)
Mr Michael Clapham (Lab) (Barnsley West and Pen)
Mr Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) (Chorley)
Mr Mark Oaten (Lib Dem) (Winchester)
Miss Julie Kirkbride (Con) (Bromsgrove)
Anne Moffat (Lab) (East Lothian)
Mr Mike Weir (SNP) (Angus)
Mr Anthony Wright (Lab) (Great Yarmouth)



The Committee’s latest report on preparations for the Games (London 2012 Games: the next lap) was published in April 2008 and is available here:

Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr John Whittingdale (Chairman) (Con) (Maldon and East Chelmsford)
Janet Anderson (Lab) (Rossendale and Darwen)
Alan Keen (Lab) (Feltham and Heston)
Philip Davies (Con) (Shipley)
Rosemary McKenna (Lab) (Cumbernauld, Kilsyth & Kirkintilloch East)
Mr Nigel Evans (Con) (Ribble Valley)
Adam Price (PC) (Carmarthen East and Dinefwr)
Paul Farrelly (Lab) (Newcastle under Lyme)
Mr Adrian Sanders (Lib Dem) (Torbay)
Mr Mike Hall (Lab) (Weaver Vale)
Helen Southworth (Lab) (Warrington South)

Media Enquiries: Laura Humble, Tel 020 7219 2003 / 07917 488 489, e mail:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6188, e mail:


Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on