The Committees on Arms Export Controls (formerly the Quadripartite Committee)

27 July 2006


The Quadripartite Committee will be publishing its First Report of Session 2005-06, ‘Strategic Export Controls: Annual Report for 2004, Quarterly Reports for 2005, Licensing Policy and Parliamentary Scrutiny,’ (HC 873) on Thursday 3 August at 00.01 hrs.

Embargoed copies of the Report will be available to witnesses and members of the press on Tuesday 1 August at 11.00am from the reception desk, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. These must be requested in advance from the Committee Assistant (tel. 020 7219 8369). Embargoed copies will also be placed in the Press Galleries. Members of the press who wish to receive an electronic advance copy should contact the Media Officer on 0207 219 0724.

Further copies may be obtained from the Stationary Office (tel 0845 702 3474) and will be available on our website at the address below soon after publication:

Notes for Editors:

  1. The Quadripartite Committee consists of four Committees that meet together to consider the control of strategic exports, including weapons. The Committees involved are: Defence, Foreign Affairs, International Development and Trade and Industry. The Chairman for these meetings is Roger Berry MP, who is a member of the Trade and Industry Committee.
  2. The Committee’s main job is to review Government policy on licensing arms exports and licensing decisions.  Each year the Government produces an annual report on Strategic export Controls which the Committee scrutinizes.
  3. Membership of the Committee:
    Members from the Trade and Industry Committee: Roger Berry MP (Chairman) (Labour); Mr Lindsay Hoyle MP (Labour); Peter Luff MP (Conservative); Judy Mallaber MP (Labour);
    Members from the Defence Committee: Mr David S Borrow MP (Labour); Mr David Crausby MP (Labour); Linda Gilroy (Labour); Robert Key MP (Conservative);
    Members from the Foreign Affairs Committee: Mike Gapes MP (Labour); Mr Fabian Hamilton MP (Labour); Mr Paul Keetch MP (Liberal Democrats); Rt Hon Sir John Stanley MP (Conservative);
    Members from the International Development Committee: Malcolm Bruce MP (Liberal Democrats); John Barrett MP (Liberal Democrats); John Bercow MP (Conservative); Richard Burden MP (Labour).
  4. For further information contact Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Media Officer, on 020 7219 0718.