Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill: Formal Minutes

Thursday 16 February 2006

Members Present:

Vera Baird
Mr Colin Breed
Mr Simon Burns
Mr David Burrowes
Alan Campbell
Mr Gerald Howarth
Mr Kevan Jones
Robert Key
Sarah McCarthy-Fry
Bob Russell
Jim Sheridan
Mr Don Touhig

In the absence of the Chairman, Robert Key was called to the Chair.

1. Future Programme

The Committee considered this matter

Resolved, That the Committee take evidence from Deepcut & Beyond on Thursday 2 March.

2. Oral Evidence

General Sir Michael Walker, Chief of the Defence Staff; Mr Julian Miller, Director General Service Personnel Policy, Mrs Teresa Jones, Head of the Armed Forces Bill Team, Mr Humphrey Morrison, Director Legislation, Commodore Robert Fraser, Director Naval Legal Services, Brigadier Stephen Andrews, Director Personal Services (Army) and Air Commodore Paul Hughesdon, Director Personnel Policy (RAF) gave evidence.

 [Adjourned till Wednesday 1 March at half- past Nine o'clock