Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill: Formal Minutes

Thursday 9 February 2006

Members Present:

Mr George Howarth in the Chair
Vera Baird
Mr Simon Burns
Mr David Burrowes
Mr Alan Campbell
Mr Gerald Howarth
Mr Kevan Jones
Sarah McCarthy-Fry
Bob Russell
Jim Sheridan
Mr Don Touhig

1. Future Programme

The Committee considered this matter.

Resolved,  That the Committee take evidence from General Sir Michael Walker, Chief of the Defence Staff, and the Ministry of Defence Bill Team on Thursday 16 February.

Resolved, That the Committee take evidence from the Service Police on Wednesday 1 March.

2. Oral Evidence

Admiral Lord Boyce GCB OBE; Admiral Sir Jonathon Band KCB, Chief of the Naval Staff and First Sea Lord, General Sir Mike Jackson GCB CBE, Chief of the General Staff and Air Chief Marshal Sir Jock Stirrup GCB, Chief of the Air Staff gave evidence.

[Adjourned till Thursday 16 February at half- past Nine o'clock