New lay member appointed to SCIPSA

01 March 2019

The House of Commons has agreed to the appointment of Cindy Butts, a former deputy chair of the Metropolitan Police Authority, as a new lay member of the Speaker’s Committee on the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority.

Lay members must be appointed to the SCIPSA in accordance with Schedule 3 of the Parliamentary Standards Act 2009, as amended by the Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010. This provides that:

  • there should be three lay members;
  • a lay member may not be, or have been, a Member of either House;
  • candidates whose names are put to the House must be selected by the Speaker on merit, on the basis of fair and open competition;
  • appointments are for a fixed term, of up to five years; and
  • a lay member may not be reappointed.

The Act requires that appointments are made by resolution of the House, with the agreement of the Speaker.

Ms Butts was selected by the Speaker on merit, on the basis of fair and open competition, in accordance with the statute.

The recruitment competition required by the statute was conducted at the Speaker’s request by a Board chaired by the Clerk Assistant, Dr John Benger. The other board members were: Sir Hugh Bayley (former MP for York Central), Michelle Barnes (independent HR consultant) and Mike Page (HR Business Partner, House of Commons Service).

Ms Butts is appointed for five years, beginning on 1 March 2019.

Further information

Image: iStockphoto 

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Speaker news, Commons news, Committee news

Share this page