Lord Boswell re-appointed as Chairman of EU Committee

27 May 2015

Lord Boswell of Aynho has been re-appointed as Principal Deputy Chairman of Committees and thus as Chairman of the House of Lords European Union Committee. He has performed the role since May 2012.

The Principal Deputy Chairman of Committees is one of three salaried office-holders (along with the Lord Speaker and Chairman of Committees), who are either elected or appointed by the House of Lords as a whole. All salaried officer-holders are required to give up any party affiliation while they hold office. The role of Principal Deputy Chairman has been combined with that of Chairman of the European Union Committee since the Committee’s establishment in 1974.

Lord Boswell was formerly a Conservative Member of Parliament, sitting in the House of Commons from 1987 until 2010, holding a number of ministerial posts. He became a Member of the House of Lords on 8 July 2010.

The European Union Committee itself is likely to be re-appointed in June 2015.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page

Follow the committee on...

TwitterTwitter - keep up to date with the European Union Committee