European Union Committee appoints new sub-committee members

Committee meeting
03 July 2019

The EU Select Committee has approved changes to sub-committee membership.


On 1 July 2019 the House of Lords approved changes to the membership of its select committees, including the European Union Committee. These changes gave effect to the House's 'rotation rule', whereby Members are appointed to committees for three parliamentary sessions, before being replaced.

The European Union Committee applies the rotation rule to its sub-committees, and on 2 July approved changes to sub-committee membership.

Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

Lord Addington, Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom, Baroness Bryan of Partick, Baroness Byford, Lord Kerr of Kinlochard, Baroness McIntosh of Pickering and Lord Maxton have been appointed in place of Viscount Hanworth, Lord Krebs, Lord Rooker, Lord Selkirk of Douglas, Baroness Sheehan, Viscount Ullswater and Baroness Wilcox.

External Affairs Sub-Committee

Lord Alderdice, Lord Davies of Stamford, Lord Faulkner of Worcester, Baroness Finn, Lord Fraser of Corriegarth, Lord Oates, The Earl of Sandwich and Lord Wood of Anfield have been appointed in place of: Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top, Lord Dubs, Lord Horam, The Earl of Oxford, Lord Risby, Lord Stirrup, Baroness Suttie and Lord Triesman.

Financial Affairs Sub-Committee

Baroness Couttie, Lord Sharkey and Lord Turnbull have been appointed in place of: Lord Butler of Brockwell, Baroness Falkner of Margravine and the Earl of Lindsay.

Home Affairs Sub-Committee

Baroness Jolly, Lord McNally, Baroness Newlove, Baroness Primarolo and Baroness Scott of Bybrook have been appointed in place of: Lord Haselhurst, Baroness Janke, Baroness Massey of Darwen, Baroness Pinnock and Lord Ribeiro.

Internal Market Sub-Committee

Baroness Donaghy has been appointed as Chair, Lord Berkeley, Lord Carter of Coles, Lord Lilley, Lord Mountevans, Baroness Prashar, Lord Shipley and Lord Vallance of Tummell have been appointed in place of Lord Aberdare, Lord German, Lord Liddle, Baroness Noakes, Baroness Randerson, Lord Rees of Ludlow and Lord Whitty (the outgoing Chair).

Justice Sub-Committee

Lord Anderson of Ipswich, Baroness Deech, Lord Gold, Baroness Goudie, Baroness Hamwee and Lord Rowlands have been appointed in place of Lord Cromwell, Lord Judd, Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws, Baroness Ludford, Baroness Neuberger and Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia.

 Further information

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Lords news, Lords news, Committee news

Share this page