Lord Boswell of Aynho reappointed to chair European Union Committee

21 June 2017

Lord Boswell of Aynho was today reappointed as 'Principal Deputy Chairman of Committees' by the House of Lords, and will chair the European Union Committee for the coming session of Parliament.

The Chair of the European Union Committee is unusual among committee chairs in being formally appointed by the House of Lords as a full-time, salaried office-holder—the Principal Deputy Chairman of Committees. He also gives up his party affiliation for the duration of his term in office.

Lord Boswell has chaired the EU Committee since May 2012. He had previously served as a Conservative MP from 1987 to 2010, before joining the House of Lords in July 2010.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Lords news, Members of the Lords, Lords news, Committee news, European Union

Share this page