Democracy and Digital Technologies Committee - timeline


The House of Lords agreed to appoint a Select Committee on Democracy and Digital Technologies on 13 June 2019.


Wednesday 19 June 2019

The Committee met in private.

Tuesday 16 July 2019

The Committee took evidence from:

  • Baroness O'Neill of BENGARVE

Tuesday 3 September 2019

The Committee took evidence from:

  • Susannah Storey, Director General for Digital and Media Policy, DCMS
  • Sarah Connolly, Director of Security and Online Harms, DCMS
  • Natalie Bodek, Deputy Director of Elections, Cabinet Office
  • Michelle Dyson, Director of Qualifications, Curriculum and Extra-Curricular, DfE

Tuesday 29 October 2019

The Committee took evidence from:

  • Alex Krasodomski—Jones, Director of the Centre for the Analysis of Social Media, Demos
  • Caroline Elsom, Senior Researcher, Centre for Policy Studies
  • Rachel Coldicutt, CEO, doteveryone

followed by evidence from:

  • Professor Helen Margetts, Director of the Oxford Internet Institute, 2011-2018
  • Dr Martin Moore, Director of the Centre for the Study of Media, Communication and Power, King’s College London
  • Professor Cristian Vaccari, Professor of Political Communication, Loughborough University

Tuesday 5 November 2019

The Committee took evidence from:

  • Lord Currie, Chairman, Advertising Standards Authority (ASA)
  • Guy Parker, CEO, Advertising Standards Authority (ASA)

followed by evidence:

  • Eric Salama, CEO, Kantar
  • Paul Bainsfair, Director General, Institute of Practitioners in Advertising
  • Keith Weed, President, Advertising Association.

Wednesday 6 November 2019

Parliament was dissolved.

Wednesday 22 January 2020

The Committee was reappointed.

Tuesday 28 January 2020

The Committee took evidence from:

  • Will Moy, Chief Executive, Full Fact
  • Ed Humpherson, Director General of Regulation, Office for Statistics Regulation
  • Jenni Sargent, Managing Director, First Draft
  • Allan Leonard, Editor in Chief, FactCheck, NI

followed by evidence from:

  • Jessica Cecil, Director of the BBC Online Project, BBC
  • Matthew d'Ancona, Editor and Partner, Tortoise
  • James Mitchinson, Editor, Yorkshire Post

 Tuesday 4 February 2020

The Committee took evidence from:

  • Ben Scott, Director of Policy, Luminate
  • Elisabeth Braw, Senior Research Fellow, Modern Deterrence Project, RUSI
  • Lisa-Maria Neudert, Oxford Technology and Elections Commission
  • Paddy McGuinness, Oxford Technology and Elections Commission

followed by evidence from:

  • Pascal Crowe, Data and Democracy Project Officer, Open Rights Group
  • Ailidh Callander, Legal Officer, Privacy International
  • Jon Lloyd, Head of European Campaigns, Mozilla Foundation