Committee to host bumper day of evidence

03 October 2014

The House of Lords Committee on the Arctic will on Tuesday hold three evidence sessions on key issues for the region including shipping, opportunities for energy resource extraction and the role of Russia in the Arctic.


At 10.40am:   

  • Lord Fairfax of Cameron, Chairman of Sovcomflot Overseas Holding Ltd
  • Rob Hindley, Lead specialist in Arctic technology, Lloyd’s Register
  • Tom Paterson, Senior Vice-President, Shipowning, Arctic, and Projects, Fednav

At 11.40am:

  • Professor Mike Bradshaw, Professor of Global Energy, Warwick Business School
  • Dr Richard Powell, Associate Professor of Human Geography, University of Oxford
  • Professor Frances Wall, Associate Professor in Applied Mineralogy, University of Exeter.

At 2.00pm:

  • Professor Geoffrey Boulton OBE FRS FRSE, Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Andrew Foxall, Director of the Russia Studies Centre at The Henry Jackson Society
  • Tim Reilly, Arctic Advisory Group

Areas of discussion

  • Prospects for a significant increase in trans-Arctic shipping.
  • What type of shipping or cargo might be attracted by the opening up of Arctic shipping routes.
  • What kind of infrastructure would be required in the Arctic region to safely support an increase in shipping.
  • Energy exploration in the Arctic including the accuracy of estimates of the amount of recoverable oil, natural gas and minerals in the Arctic.
  • How important Arctic oil and gas reserves might be in a global context.
  • The response of local communities in the Arctic to new oil, gas and mineral extraction projects.
  • Russia’s role in the Arctic and its aspirations for the Arctic Council.
  • How tensions between Russia and European nations might impact on Arctic cooperation.
  • The impact that sanctions might have on Russian oil and gas developments in the Arctic.

Further information

 Image: iStock

Share this page

Follow the committee on...

TwitterTwitter - keep up to date with the Arctic Committee