The implementation of right of disabled people to independent living

13 June 2011

The Committee has agreed to hear oral evidence from the following witnesses:

Tuesday 14 June 2011

at 2.15 pm

  • Mike Smith, Commissioner and Chair of the Disability Committee, Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC);
  • Virginia McVea, Director, Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission;
  • Bob Collins, Chief Commissioner, Equality Commission for Northern Ireland; and
  • Duncan Wilson, Head of Strategy and Legal, Scottish Human Rights Commission

at 3.15 pm

  • Diane Mulligan OBE, EHRC Disability Committee, UK Nominee for the UN Committee of Experts on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, Member of Equality 2025;
  • David Ruebain, Solicitor, Former Director of Legal Policy, EHRC, Chief Executive of the Equality Challenge Unit;
  • Pauline Thompson OBE, Co-author, Community Care and the Law (4th Edition); and
  • Karen Ashton, Solicitor, Public Law Solicitors

The above meeting is open to members of the public. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. Members of the public enter via the Visitors Entrance, next to St Stephen's Entrance, the Palace of Westminster:

Further information

Image: iStockphoto

Share this page