DCMS and S4C respond to Committee's Report

15 July 2011

Responses from the DCMS (Department of Culture, Media and Sport) and S4C to the Committee's Report on S4C

Today, Friday 15 July, both the Government and the S4C Authority have responded to the Welsh Affairs Committee’s Report on S4C the Welsh language broadcaster. The response from the Department of Culture, Media and Sport responded to the Committee’s recommendations and confirmed that the Government was committed to an independent S4C.

The S4C Authority response, also published today by the Committee as a Special Report, also responded to each of the Committee’s recommendations and pledged to “conduct a root and branch review of all aspects of its operations”.

Chair's comments

The Chair of the Committee, David T.C. Davies MP stated: “I welcome the responses from the Government and the S4C Authority to our Report. I am particularly pleased that the DCMS and S4C have responded so positively to the robust recommendations we made to improve the management and accountability of S4C. The Committee remains steadfast in its commitment to the operational and editorial independence of S4C and I welcome the strong commitment from the DCMS to that principle. These are clearly challenging times for S4C but I am encouraged that under its new Chairmanship this cherished institution will adapt to the new financial reality and thrive in the years ahead.”

The Welsh Affairs Committee published its Report on S4C on 11 May 2011. In its Report the Committee, while noting the significant contribution that S4C makes to the Welsh economy and the culture of Wales, made a number of recommendations aimed at improving the management performance, governance arrangements and accountability of the broadcaster.

Members of the Welsh Affairs Committee also called on the Government to guarantee S4C’s operational and editorial independence. In particular, the Committee argued that the BBC must not interfere in the day to day running of the channel. Although Members had serious concerns about the way that the S4C Authority and management have performed over the last year or so, they recognised that under its new Chairman, S4C now had the opportunity to put the difficulties of the past 12 months behind it and to look forward with renewed confidence.

Further information 

Committee Membership is as follows: David T. C. Davies MP (Chair), Stuart Andrew MP, Guto Bebb MP, Geraint Davies MP, Jonathan Edwards MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Susan Elan Jones MP, Karen Lumley MP, Jessica Morden MP, Owen Smith MP, Robin Walker MP, and Mr Mark Williams MP.

Specific Committee Information: tel: 020 7219 6189

Media Information: Jessica Bridges-Palmer 020 7219 2003

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on

Image: iStockphoto 

Share this page