Chair of S4C approved: joint report published

26 May 2011

Welsh Affairs Committee

Chairman of S4C approved in parliamentary pre-appointment hearing

In a report published today, the Commons Welsh Affairs and Culture, Media and Sport Committees approve the appointment of Huw Jones as Chairman of S4C, the Welsh language national broadcaster.
The two committees held a joint pre-appointment hearing with Huw Jones, the Government’s preferred candidate for Chairman of the S4C Authority.

David TC Davies MP, Chair of the Welsh Affairs Committee, said: “When the Welsh Affairs Committee recently reported on the new governance and funding arrangements for S4C our main concern was that S4C steers a clear, independent path forward as the world’s only Welsh language broadcaster, providing quality programming and giving clear value for money. We were concerned that, going forward into this new era for S4C, the new Chairman must provide the necessary leadership and stewardship of a cherished national institution.

“Having questioned Huw Jones we are satisfied that he demonstrates the professional competence and personal independence required for the post. We are keen to ensure that he maintains the necessary focus to tackle challenges ahead and move on from the issues and problems of the past. We wish the new Chairman well in this task and we look forward to working with him in the future.”

John Whittingdale MP, Chair of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee, said: “My Committee also recently reported its concerns about how S4C can retain its independence under the new – and hasty – partnership arrangements with the BBC. This pre-appointment hearing has reassured us that  Huw Jones is a suitable candidate for the post. We hope that he can address the big issues of driving up viewing figures and  clearly demonstrating  S4C’s value in its unique role as the national Welsh language broadcaster.”

Notes to editors:
Press inquiries:  Jessica Bridges-Palmer 0207 219 0724

1. On 4 May 2011, Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP, Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport wrote to the Chairs of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee and the Welsh Affairs Committee to inform them that Huw Jones was the Government’s preferred candidate to take up the vacant post of Chairman of S4C and invited the two Committees to hold a pre-appointment hearing with the candidate. The Secretary of State's letter, the candidate’s curriculum vitae and a memorandum by the Government setting out the requirements of the post and details of the recruitment process, are all printed with the Report.

Culture, Media and Sport Committee Membership is as follows: Mr John Whittingdale MP (Chair), Ms Louise Bagshawe MP, Dr Thérèse Coffey MP, Damian Collins MP, Philip Davies MP, Paul Farrelly MP, Alan Keen MP, Mr Adrian Sanders MP, Jim Sheridan MP, Mr Tom Watson MP.

Welsh Affairs Committee Membership is as follows: David T. C. Davies MP (Chair), Stuart Andrew MP, Guto Bebb MP, Alun Cairns MP, Geraint Davies MP, Jonathan Edwards MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Susan Elan Jones MP, Karen Lumley MP, Jessica Morden MP, Owen Smith MP, Mr Mark Williams MP.

Specific Committee Information:  tel: 020 7219 6188 or  tel: 020 7219 6189

Image: iStockphoto


Share this page