Police and Crime Commissioners in Wales questioned

27 June 2013

The Welsh Affairs Committee will hold a one-off session on Police and Crime Commissioners in Wales on Thursday 11 July 2013 at 11 am.

Watch this session here

The Committee will hear from:

  • Ian Johnston QPM, PCC Gwent 
  • Christopher Salmon, Dyfed-Powys PCC
  • Winston Roddick CB QC, North Wales
  • Sophie Howe, Deputy Police and Crime Commissioner, South Wales

(This session will follow immediately after an evidence session with Jane Hutt AM in relation to the Severn Crossings toll, from 10.15am.)

England and Wales’ first Police and Crime Commissioners were elected in 2012. The creation of elected police commissioner roles was a pledge by both the Conservatives and Liberal Democrats at the 2010 elections, in response to concerns about the perceived lack of public accountability of police authorities.

Under the Act that created the role, the core functions of Police and Crime Commissioners are to secure the maintenance of an efficient and effective police force within their area, and to hold the Chief Constable to account for the delivery of the police and crime plan. This includes, outside London, responsibility for the appointment, suspension and dismissal of the Chief Constable. Police and Crime Commissioners are charged with holding the police fund (from which all policing of the area is financed) and raising the local policing precept from council tax.

Eight months on from their election, the Welsh Affairs Committee is holding an evidence session with all four Police and Crime Commissioners in Wales to explore how the role and its statutory requirements are working in practice. 

Evidence session details:

Please note that the session's location has changed

Date:        Thursday 11 July 2013
Time:        11 am
Location:   Committee Room 1, the Senedd, Cardiff, Wales

The session is open to the public and press; all are welcome to attend. The venue is fully accessible. There is no need to reserve a place but if you would like more information please contact the Committee on 020 7219 6189 or

Image: iStockphoto

Share this page