Chair of Welsh Affairs Committee elected

09 June 2010

Following the close of nominations for the posts of Select Committee Chair on Tuesday 8 June, David T C Davies MP has been elected by the House to be the Chair of the Welsh Affairs Committee.

Following his election last week to be Chair of the Welsh Affairs Committee, David T C Davies MP said:

“I am delighted to be elected the new Chair of the Welsh Affairs Committee. My priority is to work in the interests of Wales with colleagues from across the political spectrum. 

“I look forward to working with colleagues in building on the good scrutiny work of the previous Committee and continuing to hold ministers to account.  

“There are many important issues currently facing Wales and I am very keen to begin addressing them with my new Committee colleagues once they have been nominated in the coming weeks”.

Mr Davies will take up the position formally when the remaining members of the Committee are nominated by the House in the coming weeks

Share this page