Inward investment evidence session, Swansea

04 April 2011

On Monday 4 April the Welsh Affairs Committee will hold an evidence session at Swansea University in connection with its inquiry into Inward investment in Wales

The meeting will take place on Monday 4 April 2011, in the Council Chamber, Singleton Abbey Building, Swansea University, Singleton Park.

The Chair of the Committee, David T. C. Davies said:

"Our inquiry into Inward investment in Wales is likely to be one of the most important that we undertake in this Parliament. Attracting and retaining inward investment will be vital to the future prosperity of Wales. I am therefore delighted that the Committee is taking evidence at Swansea University on an issue of such importance to the people of Wales. This is the second occasion we have taken evidence in Wales in this Parliamentary Session and we look forward to taking evidence at other locations around Wales in the near future."



  • Professor Richard Davies, Vice Chancellor, Swansea University
  • Dr Grahame Guilford, Consultant Commercialisation, Swansea Bay Science and Innovation Campus, Swansea University
  • Professor Iwan Davies, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Swansea University
  • Dr Weixi Xing, Director of the Swansea University China Centre, Swansea University.


  • Stuart Bailey, Manager for Graduate and Apprentice Development, Cassidian Systems LTD and, e-skills UK Wales Employer Board member
  • Peter Sishton, Manager for Wales, e-skills UK
  • Aled Davies, Skills Director for Wales, Energy & Utility Skills Limited
  • Toni Eastwood, Director of Academy and Talent, Morrisons
  • Neil O’Doherty, Head of Retail HR, Operations, Morrisons.

The Committee will also visit Tata’s steelworks at Port Talbot on Tuesday 5 April. This is part of a series of visits the Committee is undertaking to key employers in Wales as part of its inquiry.

For more information about the inquiry: Inward Investment in Wales

For information on attending the evidence session: Beth Lauder, Swansea University Public Relations Office, Tel: 01792 513245 / 0789 425 1874/ email:

Further information

Image: iStockphoto

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Commons news, Wales, Committee news

Share this page