Mel Stride MP “thrilled” to be elected new Chair

24 October 2019

Rt Hon. Mel Stride MP has been elected as the new Chair of the Treasury Committee, taking the position with immediate effect.

Chair's comments

Commenting on the results, the Chair said:

“I am thrilled to be elected by my fellow MPs as the Chair of the Treasury Committee, one of the most powerful backbench roles in Parliament.

“The immediate focus of the Committee will undoubtedly be on Brexit, the Budget, including our first evidence session with the current Chancellor, and scrutinising the appointment of the new Governor of the Bank of England.

“The Committee will meet shortly to discuss our future programme of work.”

Further information

Image: PC

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Commons news, Committee news, Elections

Share this page