Catherine McKinnell MP appointed interim Treasury Committee Chair

11 September 2019

Chair election postponed due to prorogation

Following the appointment of Rt Hon. Nicky Morgan MP as Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, Members of the Treasury Committee appointed John Mann to serve as Interim Chair of the Committee until a new Chair has been elected.

Mr Mann has since announced that he is standing down as an MP following his appointment as an independent adviser to the Government on antisemitism. Further details are on the Government’s website here.

The Committee has appointed Catherine McKinnell MP to serve as Interim Chair of the Treasury Committee until a new Chair has been elected.

The election for the new Chair was expected to take place on Wednesday 11 September, but has been postponed now that Parliament has prorogued. The Speaker will announce the arrangements for the election when the House returns.

MPs who have already submitted nomination forms will need to re-submit them once nominations open again.

Nominations for Chair of the Treasury Committee

  • Nominations are likely to open shortly after the House returns for a new session, following an announcement by the Speaker.
  • In accordance with the Order of the House of 4 July 2017, only a member of the Conservative Party may be a candidate for the Chair of the Treasury Committee.
  • Nomination forms will be available from the Table Office, Vote Office and Procedural Hub once the Speaker has announced the arrangements for the election.
  • Nomination forms need not be used, provided that in all respects nominations meet the provisions of the Standing Order. To be valid, nominations must contain a signed statement made by the candidate declaring willingness to stand, and must be accompanied by the signatures of 15 Members elected to the House as members of the Conservative Party. In the event that more than 15 signatures are collected from the same party as the candidate, only the first 15 valid signatures will be printed.
  • Nominations may be accompanied by the signatures of up to five Members elected to the House as members of any party other than the Conservative Party or of no party.
  • No Member may sign the statement of more than one candidate – if any Member does so, that Member’s signature will be invalidated for all nominations.
  • Candidates should declare any relevant interests with their nomination. Candidates may wish to consult the Registrar of Members’ Financial Interests. Candidates are advised to familiarise themselves with Chapters 2 and 3 of the Guide to the Rules relating to the Conduct of Members.
  • Candidates have the option of providing a 500-word supporting statement.
  • Valid nominations received each day will be printed in the next day’s House’s business papers. They will also be published on the Parliament website, along with the candidate’s supporting signatures, any declared interests and any supporting statement.
  • As soon as possible after the close of nominations, if there is more than one candidate, the list of candidates and their sponsors will be placed in the Vote Office in Members’ Lobby, and will be made available on the website. A booklet will also be published containing a photograph of each candidate, any declared interests and any supporting statement. If there is only one candidate, an announcement will be made that he or she has been elected unopposed.
  • Information about the ballot and the count will be issued once arrangements for the election have been confirmed.

Further information

Image: PC

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Commons news, Committee news

Share this page