Budget June 2010 - further information

Background to inquiry

At its first meeting of the new Parliament the Treasury Committee agreed to undertake an inquiry into the June 2010 Budget. The Committee produced a Report in time for the third reading of the Bill.

Report and Government Response

Oral evidence

As part of the inquiry the Committee held the following evidence sessions. The transcripts of these meetings are available through the Report.

Tuesday 13 July 2010 

Witnesses: Sir Alan Budd, Chairman, Mr Geoffrey Dicks, Member, Mr Graham Parker, Member, Office of Budget Responsibility, Mr Roger Bootle, Capital Economics; Mr Robert Chote, IFS; Mr Ray Barrell, NIESR; Mr John Whiting, CIOT; Mr Alan Clarke, BNP Paribas, Mr Dave Ramsden, Chief Economic Adviser, Mr Andrew Hudson, Managing Director, Public Services Growth, and Mr Edward Troup, Managing Director, Budget, Tax and Welfare, HM Treasury officials.

Thursday 15 July 2010

Witnesses: Evidence given by Rt Hon George Osborne MP, Chancellor of the Exchequer, Sir Nicholas Macpherson, Permanent Secretary and Mr Mark Bowman, Budget and Tax, HM Treasury