Road Safety - oral evidence

Oral evidence session - 24 April 2012

Witnesses: Jon Snow, newscaster and cycling advocate, James Harding, Editor, The Times, and Josie Dew, author and cycling advocate; and Mike Penning MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, and Norman Baker MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Transport

Oral evidence session - 6 March 2012

Witnesses; Mike Penning MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, and Andrew Colski, Head of Road Safety Policy, Department for Transport

Oral evidence session - 7 February 2012

Witnesses; DCC Suzette Davenport, Roads Policing Lead, Association of Chief Police Officers, Inspector Alan Jones, Roads Policing Lead, Police Federation of England and Wales, and Chief Fire Officer David Etheridge, Road Safety Lead, Chief Fire Officers Association; and Brian Simpson MEP, Chair, European Parliament Transport and Tourism Committee, Ellen Townsend, Policy Director, European Transport Safety Council, and Szabolcs Schmidt, Head of Road Safety, European Commission

Oral evidence session - 24 January 2012

Witnesses; Rob Gifford, Executive Director, Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety, Julie Townsend, Campaigns Director, Brake and Malcolm Heymer, spokesperson, Association of British Drivers; and Nick Clennett, Head of Transport Strategy, Gateshead Council, Local Government Technical Advisors Group, Peter Francis, Programme Manager, West Midlands Road Safety Partnership, Ken Wheat, Partnership Manager, South Yorkshire Safer Roads Partnership, and Simon D’Vali, Chair, West Yorkshire Safer Roads Partnership; and Professor Oliver Carsten, Professor of Transport Safety, Institute for Transport Studies, and Richard Cuerden, Technical Director for vehicle Safety, Transport Research Laboratory

Oral evidence session - 17 January 2012

Quentin Willson, writer and commentator, Nick Starling, Director of General Insurance, Association of British Insurers, Neil Greig, Director of Policy and Research, Institute of Advanced Motorists, Edmund King, President, AA; and Tony Russell, Transport Engineering Manager, Sustrans, Roger Geffen, Campaigns & Policy Director, CTC, the UK’s national cyclists’ organisation, Craig, Carey-Clinch, Managing Director, Rowan Public Affairs Ltd, Motor Cycle Industry Association, Jack Semple, Director of Policy, Road Haulage Association; and Bill Duffy, campaign co-ordinator, Pro-MOTe, and Jim Punter, Chair, MOT Trade Forum