Rail 2020 - oral evidence

18 December 2012

Witnesses: Sam Laidlaw, Non-Executive Director and Ed Smith, Non-Executive Director, Department for Transport

12 November 2012

Witnesse: Anna Walker, Chair, and Richard Price, Chief Executive, Office of Rail Regulation Rt Hon; and Simon Burns MP, Minister of State, Paul Collins, Head of Rail Network Strategy, and Steve Gooding, Director General, Domestic Transport, Department for Transport

31 October 2012

Witnesess: Rt Hon Patrick McLoughlin MP, Secretary of State, Philip Rutnam, Permanent Secretary, Department for Transport

12 September 2012

Witnesses: Rt Hon Patrick McLoughlin MP, Secretary of State, Philip Rutnam, Permanent Secretary, Department for Transport

10 September 2012

Witnesses: Sir Richard Branson, Chairman, Virgin Group Ltd, Tony Collins, Chief Executive Officer, Virgin Rail Group, Martin Griffiths, Co-Chair, Virgin Rail Group, and Graham Leech, Commercial Director, Virgin Rail Group Tim O’Toole, Chief Executive, FirstGroup plc, and Vernon Barker, Managing Director, UK Rail Division, FirstGroup plc

4 September 2012

Witnesses: Maggie Simpson, Policy Manager, Rail Freight Group, Christopher Snelling, Head of Supply Chain Policy, Freight Transport Association, Nigel Jones, Head of Planning and Strategy, DB Schenker Rail UK Ltd, and Michael Roberts, Chief Executive Officer, ATOC, Paul Plummer, Group Strategy Director, Network Rail, Jeremy Candfield, Director General, Railway Industry Association, Dr Richard Wellings, Deputy Editorial Director, Institute of Economic Affairs, and Joel Brook, Property Director, Select Service Partners, Kaj Mook, Head of Customer Service Transition, Merseyrail Electrics 2002 Ltd, and Simon Rutter, Director, Solum Regeneration

10 July 2012

Witnesses: Mike Hewitson, Head of Passenger Issues, Passenger Focus, David Mapp, Commercial Director, Association of Train Operating Companies, Stephen Joseph OBE, Chief Executive, Campaign for Better Transport, and David Watkin, Commercial Director, CrossCountry Trains; and Steve Howes, Managing Director, Rail Settlement Plan, Association of Train Operating Companies, Howard Smith, Chief Operating Officer, London Rail, Transport for London, and Shashi Verma, Director of Customer Experience, Transport for London; and Geoff Inskip, Chair, pteg, Councillor Shona Johnstone, Vice-Chair of Economy and Transport Board, Local Government Association, Neil Buxton, General Manager, Association of Community Rail Partnerships, and Professor Chris Nash, Research Professor, Institute for Transport Studies, University of Leeds

26 June 2012

Witnesses: Christian Wolmar, Railway author and broadcaster, Nigel Harris, Managing Editor, Rail Magazine, and John Nelson, Chairman of First Class Partnerships Limited; and Tom Smith, Chairman, Association of Train Operating Companies, James Colman, Director of Corporate Affairs and Sustainability, Gatwick Airport, Ian Yeowart, Managing Director, Alliance Rail Holdings; and Tim Shoveller, Alliance Managing Director, South West Trains, Paul Plummer, Group Strategy Director, Network Rail, and Peter Anderson, Managing Director, Balfour Beatty Rail

19 June 2012

Witnesses: Sir Roy McNulty, Chairman, Rail Value for Money Study, and Graham Smith MBE, Team Leader, Rail Value for Money Study; and Tim O'Toole CBE, Chairman, Rail Delivery Group, Sir David Higgins, Vice-Chairman, Rail Delivery Group; and Mick Whelan, General Secretary, ASLEF, Bob Crow, General Secretary, RMT, Manuel Cortes, General Secretary, TSSA, and Julia Long, National Officer for Docks, Rail, Ferries and Waterways, UNITE