High Speed Rail

The Transport Committee undertook an inquiry into the strategic case for High Speed Rail (the HSR programme). The Committee focused on the principal arguments for and against High Speed Rail.

Read the full terms of reference for the inquiry.

The Committee published its report on 8 November 2011.

The Committee published the Government's response to their report on 13 January 2012.

Oral evidence

13 September 2011

Witnesses: Sir Brian Briscoe, Chairman, Alison Munro, Chief Executive, and Professor Andrew McNaughton, Chief Engineer, HS2 Ltd; and the Rt Hon Philip Hammond MP, Secretary of State for Transport

6 September 2011

Witnesses: Ralph Smyth, senior transport campaigner, Campaign to Protect Rural England, Steve Rodrick, Chief Officer, Chilterns Conservation Board, Dame Fiona Reynolds, Director General, National Trust, and Professor Roger Vickerman, School of Economics, University of Kent; Niall Duffy, Head of PR and Public Affairs, FlyBe, Allan Gregory, Surface Access Director, Heathrow Airport Ltd, Jonathan Young, Programme Director (Group Strategy), Manchester Airports Group, and Steven Costello, Director, Heathrow Hub Ltd; and Garry Clark, Head of Policy and Public Affairs, Scottish Chambers of Commerce, Keith Brown MSP, Minister of Housing and Transport, Scottish Government, Tony Page, Campaign Co-ordinator, West Coast Rail 250, and Mark Barry, advisor on transport and the economy, Cardiff Business Partnership

12 July 2011

Witnesses: Jerry Marshall, Chairman, AGAHST (Action Groups Against High Speed Two), David Bayliss, Trustee, RAC Foundation, Bruce Weston, Director, HS2 Action Alliance, and Lord Wolfson; and Cllr Martin Tett, Leader, Buckinghamshire County Council and Chris Stokes, 51M, John Tomaney, Henry Daysh Professor of Regional Development, Newcastle University, and Cllr Sue Vincent, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Environment, London Borough of Camden

28 June 2011

Witnesses: Professor David Begg, Director, Campaign for High Speed Rail, David Frost, Director General, British Chamber of Commerce, and Jim Steer, Director, Greengauge21; Geoff Inskip, Chief Executive, Centro, Stephen Clark, Core Cities Group, Kieran Preston, Leeds City Region, and Geoffrey Piper, Chief Executive, NW Business Leadership Team; and Cllr Stephen Greenhalgh, Leader, Hammersmith & Fulham Council, John Dickie, Director of Strategy & Policy, London First, and Daniel Moylan, Deputy Chairman, Transport for London

21 June 2011

Witnesses: Stephen Joseph, Chief Executive, Campaign for Better Transport, Chris Nash, Research Professor, University of Leeds, and Christian Wolmar, railway author and broadcaster; Michael Roberts, Chief Executive, Association of Train Operating Companies, Richard Eccles, Director of Network Planning, Network Rail, Anthony Smith, Chief Executive, Passenger Focus, and Lord Berkeley, Chairman, Rail Freight Group; and Nicholas Petrovic, Chief Executive, Eurostar, and Pierre Messulam, Rail Strategy and Regulation Director, SNCF


YouTube film

Louise Ellman MP, Chair of the Transport Committee, talks about the High Speed Rail inquiry in a short film on YouTube.