Sir Kevin Barron elected Chair

12 July 2017

The new Chair of the Standards Committee is Sir Kevin Barron MP.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Sir Kevin Barron has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

He was the sole nomination for the position and was therefore declared elected, unopposed.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. The full list of Committee Chairs is here.

He will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Chair's comments

On becoming Chair of the Committee, Sir Kevin Barron said:

"Standards go to the heart of the relationship between the public and Parliament, and I am honoured to have been reelected by the House as the Chair of the Committee on Standards. 

I look forward to working with the seven lay members and my six fellow elected members of the Committee to continue our work on ensuring that the standards expected of MPs are clear, appropriate and well observed."

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page