Chair nominations for Standards Committee

Nominations close for Chair elections.

One nomination was received for the position of Chair of the Standards Committee.

As the only candidate for the position, Sir Kevin Barron will be declared to be elected unopposed when the Speaker announces the result of the Chair elections after the ballot held on Wednesday 12 July.

The elected MP takes up their position as Chair of the Committee when the remaining members of the committee have been appointed by the House.

The period of nomination ran from 4 July until 3pm on Friday 7 July, 2017. 

Nominated by (own party)

Nia Griffith, Ms Angela Eagle, Mr Gavin Shuker, Alison McGovern, Ellie Reeves, Mr Virendra Sharma, Stephen Doughty, Ian Austin, Mr George Howarth, Caroline Flint, Wes Streeting, Peter Kyle, Wayne David, Chris Bryant, Mr Jim Cunningham

Nominated by (other parties)

Relevant interests


Image: Parliamentary copyright