Pete Wishart elected Chair

12 July 2017

The new Chair of the Scottish Affairs Committee is Pete Wishart MP.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Pete Wishart has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

Pete Wishart was the sole nomination for the position and was therefore declared elected, unopposed.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. The full list of Committee Chairs is here.

Pete Wishart will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Here are the details of his nomination.

Chair's quote

Following his election Pete Wishart said:

"I am delighted to be re-elected Chair of the Scottish Affairs Committee. In the last Parliament the Committee scrutinised Government policy on a wide range of policy areas affecting Scotland – including immigration, renewable energy, the devolution of social security powers, and Brexit. The Committee also held meeting across the length and breadth of Scotland as part of our efforts to engage with Scottish civic society.

Most importantly, we worked hard to ensure that Scotland’s interests were reflected in the development and implementation of UK Government policy. This will remain my main priority as I Chair the Committee in the coming Parliament.

I look forward to working with colleagues from across the House to scrutinise the UK Government on the issues which matter to Scotland."

Details of the Committee’s work programme will be announced once the full membership of the Committee has been appointed.

If you would like to write to the Committee please send correspondence for the attention of the Chair to

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page