Chair nominations for Scottish Affairs Committee

Nominations close for Chair elections.

One nomination was received for the position of Chair of the Scottish Affairs Committee.

As the only candidate for the position, Pete Wishart will be declared to be elected unopposed when the Speaker announces the result of the Chair elections after the ballot held on Wednesday 12 July.

The elected MP takes up their position as Chair of the Committee when the remaining members of the committee have been appointed by the House.

The period of nomination ran from 4 July until 3pm on Friday 7 July, 2017. 

Nominated by (own party)

Ian Blackford, Kirsty Blackman, Tommy Sheppard, Brendan O'Hara

Nominated by (other parties)

Ian Mearns

Image: Parliamentary copyright